Irish Car of the Year 2018


Ireland’s motoring journalists crown the Peugeot 3008 as Irish Car of the Year 2018

The Irish Car of the Year Awards in association with Continental Tyres took place last night, November 9, at the Gibson Hotel, Dublin.

Motoring journalists from print, online and broadcasting hosted a gala black tie event attended by Ireland’s leading car brands, importers, distributors and other motoring dignitaries.

Peugeot took the top award with its 3008 model which was also named as Irish Compact Crossover of the Year category winner.

ICOTY Committee member Michael Sheridan said: “What an achievement for the Peugeot 3008 to come out on top from a field of some 60 new models launched this year on the Irish market.”

ICOTY Committee member David Walshe said: “It was a very tight competition this year with many, many fine vehicles in the running for the Irish Car of the Year accolade, congratulations to a worthy winner.”

Tom Dennigan of Continental Tyres said about the awards: “The choices of the Irish Car of the Year jury are a great help in informing Irish consumers as to the bewildering array of high tech vehicles that are launched in Ireland each year. Continental is delighted to be associated with the Irish Car of the Year awards.”

The category winners:

Kia Picanto – Irish City Car of the Year 2018
Nissan Micra – Irish Small Car of the Year 2018
Honda Civic – Irish Compact Car of the Year 2018
Alfa Romeo Giulia – Irish Medium Car of the Year 2018
BMW 5 Series – Irish Executive / Premium Car of the Year 2018
Peugeot 3008 – Irish Compact Crossover of the Year 2018
Skoda Kodiaq – Irish Large Crossover of the Year 2018
Toyota Prius PHEV – Irish Green / Efficient Car of the Year 2018
Alfa Romeo Giulia QF – Irish Performance / Sports Car of the Year 2018

New for this year’s awards programme, the Irish Car of the Year Committee introduced an award designed to recognise outstanding innovation, the Irish Car of the Year Innovation award. The Irish Car of the Year Committee explained that the aim of the award is to highlight the many innovative technologies and systems that car makers are integrating in new models. Many of these innovations are helping to improve road safety and are making cars more intelligent as the dawn of autonomous driving comes ever closer. The winner of the inaugural Irish Car of the Year Innovation Award for 2018 is the Honda Civic Sensing Suite of Safety Features.

Apart from the Innovation category award winner, the nine other category winners were all in the running for the top honour with the judging panel of some 27 journalists electing the Peugeot 3008 by a very tight margin.


About Author

Michael Sheridan

Michael is Motorhub's Editor. He is a famous face in Ireland having worked on RTE Television since 1990, firstly as a young people's TV presenter. His motoring CV took off in the mid 90's. Initially responsible for motoring content with RTE's daytime TV dept. he went on to present the RTE TV car show Drive! for 4 seasons. He has worked as a Producer/Director and Executive Producer on numerous motoring television shows in Ireland and Internationally including The Whole Way Round, The Shamrock Run, The Viking Run and The Irish 66ers to name just a few - many raised much needed funds for children's hospitals in Ireland. In print and radio his credits include the RTE Guide as motoring editor from 1999-2003, he transferred to RTE on line where he set up and edited the Motors section until mid 2015. His print credits are too many to list but include National daily (Irish Times) and Sunday newspapers, magazines, radio (multiple RTE radio shows including contributing editor with the Gerry Ryan show & The Mooney Show, plus guest he is a contributor to Tubridy, The Dave Fanning Show, Drivetime etc. Michael contributes weekly on Today FM on The Last Word with Matt Cooper. Michael has also represented Ireland's motoring journalists in Motorsport at the International Mazda MX-5 endurance race series in Italy and the Arctic Ice Race. He has been a Car of the Year Judge for over 17 years and is a former Chairperson of the Association of Professional Motoring Press (APMP).

Comments are closed.