Irish Car of the Year 2020


Contrary to popular belief there are five seasons: Winter, Spring, Summer, Autumn and Awards. The Continental Irish car of the year and Van of the Year 2020 awards remind us all the year is coming to a close. In the salubrious surrounding of the Banking Hall in the Westin Hotel Dublin all the great and the good from Ireland’s motor industry were on hand to witness the celebration of all things motoring.

The two top overall prizes are the main attraction with category awards plus an award for the wonderful Anne O’Leary from Ford Ireland for her services. Anne is a brilliant lady who has been a pleasure to deal with and I’m speaking on behalf of all of Ireland’s motoring journalists. As a judge, something I’ve been doing for close to 20 years, I had my work cut out this year to deliver appropriate marks to each car in their respective categories. The title of Irish Car of the Year was then a simple single vote election chosen from the category winners only. The Van of the Year was treated as a single category vote with proportional representation voting – again it another tough choice. I got many right including the overall winners – yay me 😉

The Categories, Contenders & Winners:

Compact Car of the Year
Audi A1
Hyundai Kona Electric
Kia e-Soul
Renault Clio



Medium Car of the Year
Kia e-Niro
Kia e-Soul
Kia ProCeed
Mercedes-Benz B Class
Mercedes-Benz CLA
Skoda Scala
Toyota Corolla


Large Car of the Year
BMW 3 Series
Lexus ES
Peugeot 508
Tesla Model 3
Toyota Camry
Volvo S60


Compact SUV of the Year
Kia XCeed
Lexus UX
Volkswagen T Cross



Medium SUV of the Year
Audi Q3
Citroen C5 Aircross
Mercedes-Benz EQC
Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV
Range Rover Evoque
Toyota RAV4


Large SUV of the Year
Audi E-Tron
Audi Q8
Ford Ranger Raptor
Mercedes-Benz GLE
SEAT Tarraco


Green/Efficient Car of the Year
Hyundai Kona Electric
Kia e-Niro
Kia e-Soul
Mercedes-Benz EQC
Mitsubishi Outlander PHEV
Tesla Model 3


Performance/Luxury Car of the Year
Alfa Romeo Stelvio Quadrifoglio
Audi RS5
BMW 8 Series
Toyota Supra



Hot Hatchback of the Year
Cupra Ateca
Ford Focus ST
Mercedes-Benz A35 AMG
Renault Megane RS Trophy
Skoda Kodiaq RS



MPV of the Year
Citroen Berlingo Multispace
Opel Combo Life
Peugeot Rifter


Van of the Year
Citroën Berlingo/Peugeot Partner/Opel Combo
Ford Transit 2 tonne
Mercedes-Benz e-Vito
Opel Vivaro
Renault Master
Renault Trafic

Winner and Irish Van of the Year 2020 Citroën Berlingo/Peugeot Partner/Opel Combo

(l to r) Anthony Conlon, Irish Car of the Year Committee; Tom Dennigan, Continental Tyres; Ronan Flood, MD of Kia Motors Ireland; and Bob Flavin, Irish Car of the Year Committee; with the Kia e-Soul.

The Continental Irish Car of the Year 2020: Kia e-Soul
(The first electric vehicle to win the overall award)


About Author

Michael Sheridan

Michael is Motorhub's Editor. Well known from TV and radio, Michael has been writing, presenting and judging cars since the mid 90's. He is a renowned Producer/Director and documentary film maker. Dozens of credits include: The Whole Way Round (Gay Byrne), The Shamrock Run (Alan Shortt), The Viking Run (Clodagh McKenna) and The Irish 66ers (David Mitchell) and The Climb for Kids (Colin Farrell). Print credits include: the RTE Guide (motoring editor 1999-2003), many national daily papers and Sundays including The Irish Times (freelance) plus other magazines. National radio credits include multiple at RTE Gerry Ryan show, the Mooney Show, The Dave Fanning Show, Drivetime etc. TV credits as a motoring expert include RTE's flagship current affairs show Primetime and TV3's Ireland AM. Michael also presented RTE's car show Drive! in the late 90s and directed some items in MPH2 on TG4. Michael contributes weekly on motoring issues to The Last Word show with Matt Cooper on Today FM. Michael has represented Ireland's motoring journalists in Motorsport at the International Mazda MX-5 endurance race series in Italy and the Arctic Ice Race. He has been a Car of the Year Judge for 20 years, more recently a judge for Van of the Year. Michael is a former Chairperson of the Association of Professional Motoring Press (APMP).

Comments are closed.